Food and Environmental Forum 2020

Chromicent is pleased to present our method for the detection of pyrrolizidine alkaloids by LC-MS/MS and SFC-MS/MS developed by our project manager Maike Rehn at the Food and Environmental Forum 2020.

Save the Date: 05. und 06. Mai 2020

Abstract

Insights into method development for the determination of pyrrolizidine alkaloids – UPLC vs. UPC2

Pyrrolizidine alkaloids are phytochemicals, some of which have liver-toxic, carcinogenic and mutagenic effects. The two complementary chromatography techniques – Liquid Chromatography and Supercritical Fluid Chromatography – were compared for the development of a method for the determination of 28 of these harmful compounds from herbal medicines and teas.

Food and Environmental Forum

The Food and Environmental Forum is part of Waters’ #AnalyticalFoodies initiative.

The intention of the initiative is to provide support in all areas of food analysis, always in compliance with guidelines and regulatory requirements.

You can find an overview *here*

Pyrrolizidine alkaloids

Pyrrolizidine alkaloids (PA) are secondary metabolites that are formed by various plant species to repel predators. PA can cause life-threatening liver disease and are considered likely to be carcinogenic, therefore they present a significant risk potential in food and feed.

In addition to bee products (honey, pollen), the main focus of current analysis is on medicinal and herbal teas (including rooibos tea, black and green teas).

To date, there are no legal limits for PA, but the Federal Institute for Risk Assessment (BfR) recommends that consumers’ overall exposure be kept as low as possible. According to the risk assessment, a daily intake of 0.007 µg PA/kg body weight should not be exceeded.

As a result of consumers’ increased attention to natural medicine and healthy, conscious nutrition, the demand for medicinal and herbal teas is rising. Therefore, pyrrolizidine alkaloids present a current issue, especially in the field of teas for infants and toddlers. If you would like to know more about this topic or would like support with the analysis, please contact us.

Food and Environmental Forum 2020

Die Chromicent freut sich, auf dem Food and Environmental Forum 2020 die von unserem Team entwickelte Methode zur Bestimmung der Pyrrolizidinalkaloide mittels LC-MS/MS und SFC-MS/MS zu präsentieren.

Save the Date: 05. und 06. Mai 2020

Abstract

Einblicke in die Methodenentwicklung zur Bestimmung von Pyrrolizidinalkaloiden –  UPLC vs. UPC2

Pyrrolizidinalkaloide sind sekundäre Pflanzenstoffe, von denen einige eine lebertoxische sowie krebserzeugende und erbgutverändernde Wirkung haben. Die beiden komplementären Chromatographietechniken – Liquid Chromatography und Supercritical Fluid Chromatography – wurden für die Entwicklung einer Methode zur Bestimmung von 28 dieser gesundheitsschädigenden Verbindungen aus Arzneipflanzen und -tees gegenübergestellt.

Food and Environmental Forum

Das Food and Environmental Forum ist Teil der #AnalyticalFoodies-Intiative von Waters.

Ziel der Intiative ist es, Unterstützung in allen Bereichen der Food-Analytik zu leisten, stets in Übereinstimmung mit den Richtlinien und gesetzlichen Anforderungen.

Einen Überblick finden Sie *hier*

Pyrrolizidinalkaloide

Bei Pyrrolizidinalkaloiden (PA) handelt es sich um sekundäre Stoffwechselprodukte, welche von diversen Pflanzenarten gebildet werden, um Fressfeinde abzuwehren. PA können lebensbedrohliche Leberschäden verursachen und gelten als wahrscheinlich krebserregend, weshalb sie in Lebens- und Futtermitteln ein bedeutendes Risikopotential darstellen.

Neben Bienenprodukten (Honig, Pollen) liegt das Augenmerk der aktuellen Analytik besonders auf Arznei- und Kräutertees (inklusive Rooibostee, Schwarz- und Grüntees).

Zwar existieren bisher keine gesetzlichen Grenzwerte für PA, doch das Bundesinstitut für Risikobewertung (BfR) empfiehlt, die Gesamtexposition des Verbrauchers so gering wie möglich zu halten. Laut Risikoabschätzung soll eine tägliche Aufnahme von 0,007 µg PA/kg Körpergewicht nicht überschritten werden.

Durch die vermehrte Zuwendung der Verbraucher zur Naturheilkunde und gesunden, bewussten Ernährung, steigt die Nachfrage nach Arznei- und Kräutertees. Besonders im Bereich der Tees für Säuglinge und Kleinkinder sind Pyrrolizidinalkaloide somit ein brandaktuelles Thema. Wenn Sie mehr zum Thema erfahren wollen oder Unterstützung bei der Analytik wünschen, sprechen Sie uns an.